News Ticker

Opinion: Annie get your gun: Students should get their concealed carry license

Individuals who put in the effort and put down the cash can get approval from the state of Idaho and neighboring states to carry a concealed weapon.

Individuals who get a license to enhanced carry concealed weapons can carry firearms, batons, knives, pepper spray, baseball bats, machetes, ice picks, morning stars, ninja stars and sharpened sticks. Keep in mind this is not an encompassing list; enhanced concealed carry license holders can conceal anything classified as a weapon and
carry it.

However, people can only conceal carry firearms on campus.

When taking my Enhanced Concealed Carry Weapons class my instructor informed me, “If you can conceal it, you can carry it.” In other words, dusting off the trench coat and strapping a katana to my back would be totally acceptable.

Laughter aside, the best way to make the new legislation work is for as many people to get licensed as possible.

According to Senate Bill 1254 (the bill allowing guns on campus), “It is the intent of this Legislature to provide for the safety of students, faculty and staff of state colleges and universities to allow for the possession or carrying of firearms by certain licensed persons on state college and university

As the legislature states, the bill is intended to make it safer for individuals on campus. And here’s why: only individuals who are licensed can carry—and no one else.

It might seem chaotic to put guns in the hands of college students and tell them to carry them in their waistbands, purses and (possibly) bras, but after understanding the effort it takes to get a license to conceal carry, you might change your mind.

First off, to take the class you need to put down around $100 and dedicate an entire day to the course. Then, you’re educated on the legal aspects of the responsibility you take on when carrying the license. Following legal class, you shoot over 100 rounds. Depending on your gun this might be as expensive or more expensive as registering for the class. You shoot rounds from difference stances with different hands and subject yourself to burning brass—trust me, you do not want to be hit with an empty cartridge as it discharges from a gun.

After the class, assuming you passed, you’re given a certificate. Now take that and $60 with you to the sheriff’s office because there is a fee for the background check and fingerprinting. Finally, wait about 60-90 days before your license comes in the mail.

Considering that it is roughly a $250 investment and three-month time commitment, it’s easy to see that there is quite a bit of effort that goes into acquiring this license.

However, if enough people invest their time and money the benefit, comfort and safety permit holders provide others could make a huge difference on campuses nationwide and our campus at Boise State.

After all, according to Wayne LaPierre, executive vice president of the NRA, “The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun.”

About Eryn Shay Johnson (0 Articles)
Eryn Shay Johnson is the Assistant News Editor at the Arbiter. She currently studies communication at Boise State University. Johnson has a history in producing media content; she has produced content for The Post Register of Idaho Falls and The Times-News in Twin Falls. Her article “Good for the Soul: Group uses laughter as path to better health” was picked up by the Associated Press in July 2011. When she isn’t writing or studying Johnson spends time with her boyfriend, dog, and cat in their south Boise home.